Concealed Carry Permit
If you are an Alabama resident, you are no longer required to have a Concealed Carry Weapon permit unless you are traveling outside the state with your firearm. You must be 18 years or older to open carry or conceal carry without a permit.
Pistol permits are available for 1 year, 5 years and lifetime terms:
1 year- $15.00
5 year- $75.00
Lifetime for 19-59 years old -$300.00 Lifetime for 60 years old and older $150.00
Fee waivers are available for retired military, honorably discharged veterans, and active military. Applicant must show DD-214 or military ID card, or record of honorable discharge.
Funds received for 1 year and 5 year permits stay in the County for Sheriff's Law Enforcement operations. A portion of funds received from issuing a lifetime permit are required to be sent to the State of Alabama with no local benefit.
Pistol Permit Requirements:
- be a resident of St. Clair County before you can apply for a permit with this office;
- be nineteen (19) years of age or older to apply for a permit;
The Sheriff may deny a permit application if a determination has been made that the person is prohibited from the possession of a pistol or firearm pursuant to state or federal law or has a reasonable suspicion that the person may use a weapon unlawfully or in such other manner that would endanger the person's self or others. In making such determination, the sheriff may consider whether the applicant:
- Was found guilty but mentally ill in a criminal case.
- Was found not guilty in a criminal case by reason of insanity or mental disease or defect.
- Was declared incompetent to stand trial in a criminal case.
- Asserted a defense in a criminal case of not guilty by reason of insanity or mental disease or defect.
- Was found not guilty only by reason of lack of mental responsibility under the Uniform Code of Military Justice.
- Required involuntary inpatient treatment in a psychiatric hospital or similar treatment facility.
- Required involuntary outpatient treatment in a psychiatric hospital or similar treatment facility based on a finding that the person is an imminent danger to himself or herself or to others.
- Required involuntary commitment to a psychiatric hospital or similar treatment facility for any reason, including drug use.
- Is or was the subject of a prosecution or of a commitment or incompetency proceeding that could lead to a prohibition on the receipt or possession of a firearm under the laws of Alabama or the United States.
- Falsified any portion of the permit application.
- Has caused justifiable concern for public safety.
NOTICE: Effective Oct.1, 2022, ACT 2021-246 states Sheriff shall require an applicant to possess a valid carry concealed permit for 5 years prior to approval of issuance of lifetime non-expiring permit
The St Clair County Sheriff's Office offers this online service as a convenience to the community. In addition to the permit fee, the system will charge a per transaction fee for the convenience of applying and paying for your permit online. The convenience fee is not collected by the Sheriff. This fee is paid to the company that provides this order, payment and processing system to the public. You do have the option of paying via cash in person at the Sheriff's office. By doing so, you will not be charged the convenience fee.
Click on the secure link below to start the application or renewal process required by law for the background check. Fill in the required information for the background check and you will be notified by email, text or telephone call within 30 days of your approval. Payment can be made on-line with a credit or debit card. A KIOSK is located in our offices at 48 6th St. in Ashville and 1610 Cogswell Ave. in Pell City and is available for those that desire to pay for their permit in cash or who do not have access to the internet.
Please bring a valid Alabama Driver’s License or Alabama State ID card for verification when you pick-up your permit.
Permits can be picked up Monday through Friday (except holidays) from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm. Permits not picked up within 60 days will require reprocessing of the background check.
Gun Reciprocity Law
Alabama issues concealed handgun licenses only to residents of Alabama, through the Sheriff of their county of residence. Alabama does not issue carry conceal permits to out of state residents.
Firearm laws can be complex. It is the responsibility of each person holding an Alabama carry conceal permit to check with the state/jurisdiction they are traveling to in order to determine whether that state/jurisdiction honors Alabama's permit and whether there are any restrictions or conditions imposed on persons carrying firearms with out-of-state permits there.
Permit holders are reminded that while carrying a valid concealed handgun in another state, they are bound by that state's law concerning concealed handguns. A permit or license holder from another state shall carry their handgun in compliance with the laws of Alabama while they are in this state.
The following states currently reciprocate with Alabama Concealed Carry Permits and is subject to change:
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia,West Virginia, Wyoming