Skip to Main Content

Criminal Investigation (CID)

CID- PIXEL upgrade.jpg CID (2).jpg
Chief Layton

Chief Investigator Wayne Layton

wlayton@stclairco.com

205-814-3503

 

 

 

 

           Criminal Investigation Division 

               crimetips@stclairco.com

The Criminal Investigations Division of the St. Clair County Sheriff's Office works closely with the Patrol Division. In the majority of cases, Patrol makes the initial contact with the victim of a crime. The patrol deputy determines the validity and degree of the offense, creates a written report, and forwards the felonies to the Criminal Investigations Division, where case assignment is made for follow-up by an investigator.

    The Criminal Investigations Division is led by Chief Investigator Wayne Layton, who is responsible for assigning, managing, and assisting with cases assigned to investigators under the division. Within the Criminal Investigations Division are subsections that include General Investigations, Sex Crimes, and Narcotics. General Investigators are assigned a wide range of cases that include homicide, assault, robbery, burglary, theft, and missing persons. The Sex Crimes Unit is primarily assigned cases that would include domestic violence, missing juveniles, sexual assault, and other crimes of a sexual nature. The Narcotics Division is tasked with locating and arresting users and dealers of illegal drugs both prescription and street drugs.

    The members of the Criminal Investigations Division are made up of a group of highly trained and dedicated investigators working to make St. Clair County a better and safer community for us all.

 

Sgt. Matt Cone Wayne Knight Howard Kyle.JPG

Sergeant Matt Cone 

mcone@stclairco.com

205-884-3333

Investigator Wayne Knight

wknight@stclairco.com

205-884-3333

Investigator Kyle Howard

khoward@stclairco.com

205-814-3502

Buddy Mcbride Trent Cox D. Seals.jpg

Investigator Buddy McBride

bmcbride@stclairco.com

205-814-3515

Investigator Trent Cox

tcox@stclairco.com

205-814-3516

Investigator Demetrius Seals

dseals@stclairco.com

205-814-3518

Wiggins, Brandon -suit.JPG McDonald Josh.JPG Johnson, Chris.JPG

Investigator Brandon Wiggins 

bwiggins@stclairco.com

205-814-3509

Investigator Josh McDonald 

jmcdonald@stclairco.com

205-814-3519

Investigator Chris Johnson 

cjohnson@stclairco.com

 

     

Randy Hurst 

Sex offender registry

rhurst@stclairco.com

205-884-3333

Clayton Cato.JPG  
 

Investigator Clayton Cato

ccato@stclairco.com

205-814-3504

 
     

 

Crime Stoppers
Submit Online